Upcoming Workshop: Electoral Management Policies and Priorities

IRC Logo

Electoral Management Policies and Priorities

On 16 October 2015, there will be a half-day workshop looking at electoral management practices in Ireland and abroad. The programme includes election specialists working on electoral management bodies, voter registration and the regulation of political parties. The workshop is taking place in the Metropole Hotel in Cork and everyone is welcome. Please email Dr Theresa Reidy on t.reidy@ucc.ie to confirm attendance (for catering purposes). The event is funded by a grant from the Irish Research Council under the New Foundations Scheme.

 

Electoral Management Policies and Priorities

Shaw Room, Metropole Hotel, Cork

8.30 – 10.00                Electoral Management Practices

Toby James t.s.james@uea.ac.uk (University of East Anglia)

Electoral governance and the independence of electoral management boards: A policy network approach

Fiona Buckley f.buckley@ucc.ie (UCC), David Farrell david.farrell@ucd.ie (UCD) and Theresa Reidy t.reidy@ucc.ie (UCC)

The Case for Electoral Management Reform in Ireland, insights from the first wave of the EIP

Reka Vernagy Várnagy Réka reka.varnagy@uni-corvinus.hu  (Corvinus) and Gabriela Ilonzski gabriella.ilonszki@uni-corvinus.hu  (Corvinus)

Electoral Reform in Hungary

10.00 – 10.30              Coffee Break

10.30 – 12.00              Voter Registration Procedures

Giulia Piccolino giulia.piccolino@giga-hamburg.de (GIGA)

The reform of voter registration: lessons from West Africa

Davide Tiberti dtiberti@electoralcommission.org.uk (UK Electoral Commission)

Electoral registration in Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Lewis Baston lewisbaston@hotmail.com (Democratic Audit) and Stuart Wilks-Heeg Wilks-Heeg, swilks@liverpool.ac.uk (Liverpool)

Managing Electoral Rolls

12.15 – 1.00                Regulating Political Parties

Gabriela Borz gabriela.borz@strath.ac.uk (Strathclyde)

Political Party Regulation, Insights from the Party Law in Modern Europe Database

1.00                             End of Workshop

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s